Supporting Sufferers of Self-Harm and their Carers

It seems very appropriate, seeing as May in Mental Health Month in the USA that it should be now that I launch this graphic.

Self-Harm, Deliberate Self Harm, Intentional Self-Harm,  including such things as Self-Abuse, Self-Neglect, Self-Injury, – which ever label or terminology you prefer or are used to – is often done in secret and all too often goes undetected or undisclosed.

Because of this establishing accurate statistics is virtually impossible.  But that does not make it any less of a serious issue and in fact makes it even more serious in some ways.

So in view of this and mindful of it being Mental Health Month in the USA this blog and  other supporting blogs I am involved in are going to display the following graphic in an attempt of raising awareness and in the hope of removing some of the stigma and shame often associated with Self-Harm, Deliberate Self Harm, Intentional Self-Harm,  including such things as Self-Abuse, Self-Neglect, Self-Injury.

If you are a blogger who is concerned about the issue of self-harm I invite you to do the same…

Oh and one last thing I should perhaps mention or explain…

Because of the amount of misconceptions out there concerning self-harm I have really struggled over which graphic to use and have finally settled on this one for now.  The thought processes behind the design of this graphic are as follows…

Through the use of a ‘teddy bear’ instead of a ‘person’ I hope to remove or reduce any gender-specific associations.

Additionally, through the use of a ‘brown’ teddy bear as opposed to a pink or blue one we hope to also remove or reduce any gender-specific associations.

By choosing a teddy bear with a band-aid/plaster on it’s head we hope to illustrate injury or that the bear has been harmed.

By the band-aid/plaster being on it’s head and not arms or body we hope to stay clear of the incorrect assumption that self-harming is just cutting  etc.

Tagged , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Supporting Sufferers of Self-Harm and their Carers

  1. boldkevin says:

    Reblogged this on Mental Health Writers' Guild and commented:

    In view of this being Mental Health Month in the USA I thought I would reblog this here.

    • Angel O'Fire says:

      fantastic thought Kev,
      Awareness is the only way people can learn, and I personally believe that education is the key to unlock many secrets that are within life, by making people aware of things such as mental health, takes away a lot of the stigma attached towards it, great blog

      • boldkevin says:

        Hi Angel O

        Many thankd for your kind words and I agreee with you – education is a great deal of the answer

        Glad you liked the blog.

        Kind regards

        Kevin

  2. NZ Cate says:

    It is a perfect graphic and a great stand to take. If you are happy I would love to use it on my blog. :-)

  3. Aww such a sweet little bear. Poor thing. I know how he feels. Even though I stopped cutting 10 years ago, there are more ways to self harm that many people don’t consider. I love that he’s got a bandaid on his head since that’s where the real damage is.

    Bless you for this graphic!

    • boldkevin says:

      Hi I’m,

      Good to hear from you and I am very glad you liked the graphic. I am also glad you have stoipped the cutting although I agree that is only one way to self-harm and sadly the way that most people think of when you mention self-harm. I hope you haven’t just moved to an alternative method :)

      Again, Good to hear from you.

      Kind Regards
      Kevin

  4. [...] not an easy topic to discuss and when my blogger friend Kevin from Resonate Freedom came up with this image recently, I knew it was time to use the image (thanks, Kevin) and to talk [...]

  5. the image is perfect. :-)

    • boldkevin says:

      Hi Sensuous,

      Glad you liked it.

      Kind regards and God bless you.
      Kevin

      • Hello Kevin.

        I am browsing your blog. :-) I have displayed this image on mine in one section, when I can manage to make it fit in the side bar (silly theme makes it to tiny to read) it will be there too. I am working aggressively to remove the stigma associated to Mental Health. I think with social media we can do it. Your blog is fantastic by the way.

        I have done some basic posts on self harm, I am working on yet another one, this one I hope to make people feel different about it, by people I mean those that haven’t felt the need to self harm. Perhaps I can make them feel the emotion and make them more sensitive to this. Hugs are better than frowns.

        Amber

      • boldkevin says:

        Hi Amber,

        Yes displaying the image in a sidebar can be difficult with some themes. And you are right there is a lot of stigma attached to mental health. Hopefully through this site, yours, and the Mental Health Writers Guild plus other blogs dealing with mental health we can address that stigma.

        Hope you are well and keep up the good work.
        Kind Regards and God bless you.
        Kevin

  6. [...] Kevin made this image, the blog post is here:  SUPPORTING SUFFERERS OF SELF-HARM AND THEIR CARERS [...]

Please feel free to comment, Author reserves the right to refrain from publishing comments that are, in his opinion, considered unhelpful.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

